New Lens

Just picked up a lens of craigslist – Canon 16-35mm f2.8.  Even on my 1.6x crop DSLR it is amazingly wide.  I took it out for a little spin this afternoon while walking the neighborhood with the family.  I knew it was wide angle but I’m amazed that I was able to get a shot of an entire house in it.  I have to say I lucked out and it looks like I got a good copy. I’ve had decent luck with craigslist.  I would like to think I got a fair deal.  I’ll be posting the pictures on my Facebook fan page if you’re interested in checking them out.

Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM Ultra Wide Angle Zoom Lens

2 Comments on “New Lens

  1. Is it the I or the II? And if so, would there be much of a difference via your cropped sensor anyhow?

    • I got the II version. It’s amazing the difference even on a cropped sensor. I compared it with my 24mm prime and at 16mm it is pretty wide. I can get the entire living room in the shot from one corner. There is some vignetting but I can live with that. Just seeing the difference makes me happy I got the lens. I’ve been thinking about getting one for a while – debated on getting a new one with the rebates Canon has been having lately. I can only dream of what this lens will be like on a full frame.

Leave a Reply

